Explore and study the « oldest rock formation » formed between 4.3 and 4.4 billion years ago.

Imagine...

Exploring and studying the oldest rocks in the world discovered to date.

The Nuvvuagittuq Greenstone Belt (NGB) on the shores of Hudson Bay in Northern Quebec appears to be the oldest surviving rock formation on Earth. This geological treasure of approximately four square miles is all that remains of the Earth's crust that existed when the Nuvvuagittuq Greenstone Belt was formed during the Hadean period.

Our 8 day tour includes a 4 day/3 night camping experience near the NGB site, weather permitting. During your time in the field, accompanied by local guides and a geologist, you will discover and view the geological features and history of this formation and nearby areas of geological interest.

The remainder of your stay in the Arctic will be based at the hotel in Inukjuak. While in the village, you will explore quarries and be able to collect unusual rocks and minerals. If you want, you’ll have the possibility of going on a tour of the Museum and enjoy other attractions within Inukjuak. You will have the opportunity to meet with local people, elders, stone carvers… who will provide a perspective into their culture and skills which allowed them to survive in the Arctic for thousands of years.

 

DURATION

8 days

PACKAGE AT

 

$6648,00

per person, based on double occupancy

LOCATION

Inukjuak

Nunavik, Québec, Canada

8 day package $6,683.00

  • Departures between July 24 to 31, 2020 and August 1 to 8, 2020
     

Package Includes

  • Return flights from Montreal to Inukjuak

  • Hotel transfers

  • Hotel and tents on the field

  • All meals

  • Services of helpers, guides and a geologist

  • Canoes, truck, gas

  • Survival suit and sleeping bag.

Trip Highlights

  • Explore and study the oldest rock formation in the world

  • Visit and collect unusual rock and mineral specimens from local quarries

  • Spend 4 days on the arctic land with local guides and a geological expert specialized in this particular rock formation

  • Opportunity to see arctic wildlife

  • Discover Inuit culture and community

Itinerary

Day 1

In the morning, depart from P.E Trudeau airport, Montreal, aboard an Air Inuit aircraft. Arrival in Inukjuak in the early afternoon. Your geologist will welcome you, and after you have checked in, you will have the rest of the afternoon free to discover the village. You will also have time to prepare for your outing in the field the next day.

 

Day 2 - 5

Weather permitting, transfer by freighter canoe to the Nuvvuagittuq Greenstone belt to begin 4 days in the field. There, you will study the oldest rock formation and evidence of the oldest bacterial life yet discovered on earth (4.3-4.4 billion years old).You’ll sleep in Inuit style tents and enjoy the arctic wildlife while your local guides provide both insight and safety during your stay in this remote location.

Day 5

In the afternoon, transfer back to the hotel in Inukjuak where you’ll will be able to take a hot shower and rest. Dinner will be served at your hotel.

Day 6 - 7

These 2 days will be allocated to the exploration of the local quarries where you’ll be able to get samples of unusual rocks and minerals.

Day 8

After checkout, there will be opportunities to shop at the local COOP for souvenirs or walk in the village one last time before lunch. You will depart for Montreal shortly after.

Explorez et étudiez la plus vieille formation rocheuse datant de 4,3 à 4,4 milliard d’années.

Imaginez…

Explorer et étudier les plus vieilles roches du monde découvertes à ce jour.

La ceinture de roches vertes du Nuvvuagittuq (CRVN) située sur la rive est de la baie d’Hudson dans le Nord du Québec est réputée être la plus ancienne formation de roches existantes  sur la Terre. Ce trésor géologique d’environ six kilomètres et demi est tout ce qu’il reste de la croûte terrestre qui existait lorsque la ceinture de roches vertes du Nuvvuagittuq s’est formée durant la période hadéenne.

Notre circuit de 8 jours débute avec 4 jours/ 3 nuits en camping près du site de la CRVN, si le temps le permet. Sur le terrain,  accompagnés de nos guides locaux et d’un géologue, vous découvrirez et observerez les particularités géologiques et en apprendrez sur l’histoire de cette formation. Vous aurez aussi la chance de visiter d’autres sites géologiques intéressants qui se trouvent dans la même région. 

Durant le reste de votre séjour dans l’Arctique vous hébergerez à l’hôtel de la communauté d’Inukjuaq. Dans le village, vous aurez l’occasion d’explorer des carrières où vous pourrez ramasser des roches et des minéraux de couleurs et de formes inusuels. Si vous le désirez, vous aurez la possibilité de visiter le Musée et d’apprécier les attraits du village d’Inukjuaq. Vous aurez la chance de rencontrer des gens du village, des aînés, des sculpteurs de pierre de stéatite… qui vous présenteront leur perspective sur leur culture et leurs talents qui leur ont permis de survivre dans l’Arctique depuis des millénaires.

DURÉE

8 jours

FORFAIT

$6648,00

par personne, en occupation double

EMPLACEMENT

Inukjuak

Nunavik, Québec, Canada

Forfait 8 jours $6648.00

  • Forfait disponible du 26 juillet au 2 août 2019 et du 3 août au 10 août 2019
     

Votre forfait comprend

  • Les vols aller-retour de Montréal à Inukjuaq avec Air Inuit

  • Les transferts terrestres aller-retour de l’aéroport d’Inukjuaq à l’hôtel

  • L’hébergement sous la tente lorsque sur la toundra et à l’hôtel du village

  • Tous les repas

  • Les services de coordonnateurs, de guides et d’un géologue

  • Les transferts en canoës motorisés, en camion ainsi que l’essence

  • Les habits de survie et les sacs de couchage

Points saillants

  • Forfait tout inclus de 8 jours/ 7 nuits

  • Explorer et étudier la plus ancienne formation rocheuse du monde

  • Visiter les carrières avoisinantes et manipuler des spécimens de roches et de minéraux provenant de ces lieux

  • 4 jours sur la terre arctique en compagnie de guides locaux et d’un expert en géologie spécialisé dans l’étude de cette formation particulière de roches.

  • Possibilité de voir la faune arctique

Itinéraire

Jour 1

Le matin, départ de l’aéroport P.-E. Trudeau de Montréal à bord d’un vol d’Air Inuit qui vous emmènera à Inukjuaq en début d’après-midi.  À votre arrivée, vous serez accueillis par votre géologue. Après votre enregistrement à l’hôtel, vous passerez l’après-midi à découvrir le village et à faire vos préparatifs pour votre excursion sur la toundra qui débutera le lendemain. 

Jour 2 à 5

Si la température le permet, vous vous rendrez par canoë motorisé vers le site de la ceinture de roches vertes du Nuvvuagittuq où vous y passerez 4 jours. Vous étudierez la plus vieille formation rocheuse de l’histoire et aurez la preuve de l’existence de la plus ancienne forme de vie bactérienne découverte sur la planète qui remonte de 4,3 à 4,4 milliard d’années.

 

Vous dormirez sous des tentes de style Inuit. Vous savourerez les moments où la faune arctique se présentera sur votre passage pendant que vos guides locaux s’assureront de votre sécurité durant votre expédition dans cette région éloignée.

 

Jour 5

 

En après-midi, retour à l’hôtel d’Inukjuaq où vous apprécierez une bonne douche et un peu de repos. Le soir, le dîner sera servi à l’hôtel.

 

Jour 6 et 7

Durant ces deux jours, vous explorerez des carrières et aurez le privilège de rapporter des fragments de roches et de minéraux particuliers à cette région.

 

Jour 8

Après avoir quitté l’hôtel, vous choisirez entre une faire une visite au magasin local de la coopérative et profiter de l’occasion pour acheter vos souvenirs ou de prendre une dernière marche dans le village avant le déjeuner. Le départ pour Montréal se fera en début d’après-midi.